More To Life

“There must be more to life than this.”

I think as I look at the man, a little past his middle-aged self, laptop bag slung to his waist cargo pants, likely company issue, blue checked short sleeves, thinning hair, creamed and combed back neatly in a manageable enough do, gazing out of the train window.

Very likely on his to work, I think to myself, while I inversely, am on my way home from. We get off at the same train interchange and he decides to take the stairs while I, noticing the sparse crowd on this public holiday morning, decide to ride the escalator for a change.

At the back of my mind, wondering if ever there will be an end to all this. Or if there will come a time that won’t matter if or not there is. Just rolling with life till the end of it.

I ended up not having the brown/purple rice roll that I thought for the whole night of getting for breakfast.

Too expensive, I finally felt, making an ever so last-minute detour for a sit-in at the little cafeteria at the entrance of the station just a store away, for some fried beehoon instead. Given the place, the rather overcooked accompaniment of Taiwan sausage I had chosen was somewhat acceptable.

Saved me almost half of what I would’ve spent if i had tended to my now only slightly suppressed craving.

But the sausage… poor sausage.

Well, you win some, you lose some right?

Worth not indulging every now and then.

Maybe tomorrow.

I steal a second whiff of the passing air reminds me of newly tailored garments, I imagine, ironed to a clean crisp and fabric partially glued before laying permanent stitches in.

Almost home.

Well. ‘Home’ I guess. Again. For now.

Author: Nicholas

Amongst other random thoughts, The things that make me who I am.

Leave a comment